Puranas | Ashtadasha Puranas | 18 Puranas | MahaPuranas

Ashtadasha Puranas 18 Maha Puranas

Ashtadasha Puranas 18 Maha Puranas

Puranas, Ashtadasha Puranas, 18 Puranas, MahaPuranas. Ashtadasa Puranas List, Stories from Ashtadasa Puranams, Ashtadasha Purana Mahatmyam.

The word Puranas covers a wide range of topics and it is mainly composed in Sanskrit, but also in Tamil and other Indian languages, and these are focused the major Hindu deities such as Vishnu, Shiva and Devi and narrates their importance.

There are 18 Puranas and have been important in the Hindu culture. All Puranas praise Hindu gods and goddesses. The Bhagavata Purana has been the popular text in Hinduism and is considered as a very holy one, since it tells the leelas of Lord Krishna during his childhood. Sage Vyasa, is credited as the compiler of the Puranas.

The details of the 18 Puranas are as follows:-

1. Agni Purana

The Agni Purana, is one of the eighteen major Puranas of Hinduism.The text is classified as a Purana related to Shaivism, Vaishnavism, and Shaktism, but also considered as a text that covers them all. Read more about Agni Purana.

2. Bhagavata Purana

Bhagavatam , is one of Hinduism’s eighteen Puranas. It is composed in Sanskrit and also in all major Indian languages, it promotes bhakti to Krishna.The Bhagavata Purana is a revered text in Vaishnavism. Read more about Bhagavatha Purana..

3. Brahma Purana

The Brahma Purana is one of the eighteen major Puranas in Sanskrit language. It is also called as Adhi Purana. Another title for this text is Saura Purana, because it includes many chapters related to the Sun god. The Brahma Purana contains several passages from Mahabharata and Puranas such as the Vishnu, Vayu, Samba, and Markandeya. Read more about Brahma Purana.

4. Brahmanda Purana

The Brahmanda Purana is one of the eighteen major Puranas. It is listed as the eighteenth Maha-Purana. It is one among the oldest Puranas. The Brahmanda Purana includes the Lalita Sahasranamam, which tells the glory of Goddess Parvathi. Read more about Brahmanda Purana…

5. Brahma Vaivarta Purana

The Brahma vaivarta Purana is a Sanskrit text and a Maha-purana of Hinduism. It features Krishna and Radha, and is a Vaishnavism text. The text identifies Lord Krishna as the supreme reality, and asserting that all gods such as Vishnu, Shiva, Brahma, Ganesha, Muruga are the incarnations of Lord Krishna. Read more about Brahma Vaivarta Purana..

6. Garuda Purana

The Garuda Purana is one of 18 Mahapuraṇa in Hinduism. It is a part of Vaishnavism literature, primarily centering around Hindu god Vishnu and also praises all other gods. The text contains relationship between gods, good versus evil, the theory of “heaven and hell” with “karma and rebirth” and ancestral rites. Read more about Garuda Purana..

7. Kurma Purana

The Kurma Purana is one of the eighteen Mahapuranas. The text is named after the tortoise avatar of Vishnu. The Padma Purana categorizes Kurma Purana as a Tamas Purana. Read more about Kurma Purana…

8. Linga Purana

The Linga Purana is one of the eighteen Mahapuranas, and a Shaivism text of Hinduism.
The text tells us the worship of Linga, and is mainly focused on Shiva as a Supreme God. However, along with the worship of Lord Shiva, the Linga Purana includes the importance for Vishnu and Brahma. Read more about Linga Purana..

9. Markandeya Purana

The Markandeya Purana is a Sanskrit text of Hinduism, and is one of the eighteen major Puranas. The text’s title Markandeya refers to a sage in Hindu mythology, who is the central character in two legends, one linked to Shiva and other to Vishnu. This text is probably one of the oldest Puranas in Hinduism. Read more about Markandeya Purana…

10. Matsya Purana

The Matsya Purana is one of the eighteen major Puranas, and among the oldest Puranas in Hinduism. The text is named after the half-human and half-fish avatar of Vishnu. A history written with five characteristics is called a Purana, states Matsya Purana. Read more about Matsya Purana…

11. Naradiya Purana

The Naradiya Purana, are two Sanskrit texts, one of which is a major Purana of Hinduism, while the other is a minor Purana. The Naradiya Purana is notable for dedicating eighteen chapters on other Puranas. It consists of two parts, with the first called Purvabhaga and second called Uttarabhaga. Read more about Narada Purana..

12. Padma Purana

The Padma Purana is one of the eighteen major Puranas, a classification of texts of Dharmic religions. It is named after the lotus in which creator god Brahma appeared, and includes large sections dedicated to Vishnu, as well as significant sections on Shiva and Shakti. Read more about Padma Purana..

13. Shiva Purana

The Shiva Purana is one of the eighteen Puranas in Hinduism, and part of the Shaivism. It primarily focuses on the Hindu god Shiva and goddess Parvati, and also tells the importance of all other gods. Read more about Shiva Purana…

14. Skanda Purana

The Skanda Purana is the largest Mahapuraṇa, is part of Shaivite literature, titled after Skanda, a son of Shiva and Parvati, who is also known as Kartikeya and Murugan. The text is named after Skanda. The text has been considered as an important one in Hinduism and relates to the god Skanda. This Mahapurana, like others, is attributed to the sage Vyasa. Read more about Skanda Purana…

15. Vamana Purana

The Vamana Purana is one of the eighteen major Puranas of Hinduism. The text is named after one of the incarnations of Vishnu and it was a Vaishnava text in its origin. Read more about Vamana Purana…

16. Varaha Purana

The Varaha Purana is an ancient literature in Hinduism. It belongs to the Vaishnavism praising Narayana who took the form of varaha for safeguarding the earth goddess “Bhoomi Devi” from the demon Hiranyakashipu, and also praises on Shiva and Shakti. Read more about Varaha Purana.

17. Vayu Purana

The Vayu Purana is a Sanskrit text and one of the eighteen major Puranas of Hinduism. Vayu Purana is mentioned in Mahabharata and other Hindu texts, and it is considered that the text is oldest among the puranas. Read more about Vayu Purana….

18. Vishnu Purana

The ‘Vishnu Purana’is one of the eighteen Mahapuranas, It is an important Pancharatra text in Vaishnavism. It primarily tells the importance of the Hindu god Vishnu and his avatars such as Krishna, and also praises Brahma and Shiva and quotes that they are one with Vishnu. Vishnu Purana, like all major Puranas, attributes its author to be sage Veda Vyasa. Read more about Vishnu Purana…


By reading all these 18 Puranas, we will get enlightenment in our life. We will get a great punyam(Good Karma), and will find positive vibrations in our life. Our needs will get fulfilled, and all sorts of difficulties and problems in our life will get eliminated by reading these divine texts.Let us pray to the gods and the compiler of the puranas- “The Great Guru Sree Veda Vyasa” and chant their holy names and be blessed.

Ganesha Purana

Bhavishya Purana

Dhruva Purana

Sri Prahlada Purana

Guru Brahma, Guru Vishnu, GuruDevo Maheshwarah
Guru Saakshaat Para brahma
Tasmai Shri Guruveh Namaha


Write Your Comment