Bhoga Srinivasa Murthy Avirbhavotsavam

The temple management of Tirumala Tirupati Devasthanams (TTD) observed the ceremonial consecration of Sri Bhoga Srinivasa Murthy, the silver replica statue of presiding deity in Tirumala shrine on 24 June 2017 with special Sahasra Kalasabhishekam. To commemorate the historical occasion of the gifting of silver idol of Bhoga Srinivasa Murthy to the hill temple of […]

Srinivasa Mangapuram Koil Alwar Tirumanjanam – 27 June 2017

In connection with Srivari Sakshatkara Utsavams scheduled from June 28 to 30, the Koil Alwar tirumanjanam will be observed in the temple of Sri Kalyana Venkateswara Swamy at Srinivasa Mangapuram on June 27. This traditional temple cleansing activity will be between 6am to 11:30am on June 27. After that the devotees will be allowed for […]

Govindaraja Swamy Temple Jyeshtabhishekam Mahotsavam: 4-6 July 2017

Tirumala Tirupati Govindaraja Swamy Temple Jyeshtabhishekam Mahotsavam begins on 4 July and ends on 6 July 2017. Govindaraja Swamy Temple Jyeshtabhishekam is held on Jyeshta Nakshatra in Ashada Masam. 4 July 2017 – Jyeshtabhishekm begins 5 July 2017 – Kavacha Pratishta 6 July 2017 – Kavacha Samarpana Sri Govindarajaswami Temple is one of the most important temples in Tirumala Tirupati. […]

Diwali 2017 | Deepavali 2017

Diwali (Deepavali), the festival of lights, is the most celebrated Hindu festival. Diwali 2017 date or Deepavali 2017 date is October 19. This five-day festival is celebrated throughout India on Kartik Amavasya, No Moon day in Kartik month. According to North Indian calendars, it falls on Kartik Amavasya (Kartik Krishna Trayodashi to Kartik Shukla Dwitiya) whereas in […]

Govardhan Puja 2017 | Diwali Govardhana Pooja

Govardhan Puja is observed on the fourth day during 5-day Diwali festival. In 2017, Govardhan Puja date is October 20. It is mainly observed in North Indian states of Uttar Pradesh, Bihar, Haryana, Jharkhand and Chhattisgarh. On this day, Lord Sri Krishna along with cows is worshipped. Govardhana Pooja is celebrated as a commemoration of the […]

Choti Diwali 2017 | Narak Chaturdashi

Choti Diwali, also known as Narak Chaturdashi, is the day before Diwali festival. In 2017, Choti Diwali date is October 18. This festival is considered as Small Diwali as on this day crackers are burst in small scale. All preparations for Diwali are done on Choti Diwali day. Devotees clean their houses and Rangoli designs […]

Bhai Dooj 2017 | Bhau Beej 2017 date

Bhai Dooj or Bhai Dhuj or Bhau Beej or Bhayya Dhooj is an Indian traditional festival that brings out the love and affection of brothers and sisters. In 2017, Bhai Dooj date is October 21. Bhai Dhooj is celebrated twice in a year. The first one is celebrated after the festival of colors, Holi, and […]

Vasubaras 2017 | Vasu Baaras during Diwali in Maharashtra

Vasubaras or Vasu Baaras marks the beginning of Diwali festival in Maharashtra. In 2017, Vasubaras date is October 16. It is celebrated as Vaag Baaras in Gujarat.  This festival is celebrated in honor of cows. The thithi to celebrate Vasubaras is Krishna Paksha Dwadashi in Ashwin month. This day is also known as Govatsa Dwadasi […]

Bali Pratipada 2017 | Bali Pujan during Diwali

Bali Pratipada or Bali Pujan is observed on the following day of Diwali. In 2017, Bali Pratipada date is October 20. It marks the beginning of Kartik Month in Amavasyant calendars followed in Maharashtra, Gujarat, Telangana, Andhra Pradesh & Karnataka. It is also known as Bali Padyami and Vamana Jayanti in some places. As we […]

Yama Dvitiya 2017 | Yam Dwitiya

Yama Dvitiya or Yam Dwitiya is the last day of five-day Diwali celebrations. In 2017, Yama Dwitiya date is October 21. Yam Dwitiya is also called as Bhai Dhooj or Bhai Bij or Bhai Beej. In South India, it is called as Yama Dwitiya. Legend of Yama Dwitiya is associated with the God of death – […]