Vighnahar Temple, Ozar (Vighneshwara Ganpati) | 7th Ashtavinayak Temple

vighnahar Temple in Ozar

vighnahar Temple in Ozar

Vighneshwar Vinayak Temple, Ozhar (Vighnahar Ganpati Temple) is 7th of Ashtavinayak Temples in Maharashtra.

In order to destroy the prayer organized by King Abhinandan, King of Gods Indra created a demon named Vighnasur. But the demon went ahead destroyed religious acts and all vedic. Ganesh defeated him because he wanted to answer the people’s prayers for protection.

On being conquered, the story goes on to say that, the demon immediately begged and strongly pleaded with Lord Ganesha to show some mercy. Later his plea was answered by Ganesha. The grant of his plea was put on the basic condition that any type of demon shouldn’t go to the temples where Ganesha worshipping is progressing. Then the demon also requested a favour that his personal name should be mentioned before Ganesha’s name.

This incident gave Lord Ganesha as Vighnahar or Vighneshwar. In Sanskrit language, Vighna means a cause or sudden interruption due to some unwarranted or unforeseen, event in the ongoing work. Shri Vighneshwar Vinayak is the name given for this Ganesha.

The temple is surrounded by a thick stone wall and faces towards the East. One can walk on the wall. The temple’s inner hall is 10feet long and the main hall is 20feet long. The idol has rubies in its eyes and its trunk towards the left. The idol also has some jewel in the navel and a diamond on the forehead. Moreover, Idols of Siddhi and Riddhi are placed on both sides of the Ganesha idol.

According to the historians and Hindu religious scholars, this temple was built by Chimaji Appa. He defeated the Portuguese rulers of Sashti and Vasai. Around 1785AD, this temple was probably built.

This temple is located in the town of Ozhar which is just off the Pune-Nashik Highway. Its pinnacle is fully made of pure gold and enclosed on four sides by high stone walls. On the banks of river Kukadi, the temple is perfectly situated. Ozhar is 182 km and can reach through Mumbai-Thane-Kalyan-Bapsai-Saralgaon-Otur route.

Write Your Comment