Rajagopalaswami Temple, Mannargudi, Tiruvarur

Sri Rajagopalaswami temple is located in the settlement area named Mannargudi in the district of Tiruvarur, in the state of Tamil Nadu in South India. The principal deity of this temple is Vasudevaperumal (Lord Krishna) and his consort is Sengamala Thayar. The festival deity is Rajagopalaswami. The holy tree of this temple is Shenbagam. The holy water of this shrine is 9 Theerthas. The agamam or pooja of this shrine is known as Pancharathra. This temple is nearly 1000-2000 years old in this particular region. The historical name of this holy spot is none.

The festivals that are grandly celebrated are Brahmmotsavam in Panguni (March-April), Oonjal festival for Rajagopalaswami in Masi (February-March), Aadi Pooram (July-August), Summer festival in Chithirai – Vaikasi (April to June), Navarathri in Purattasi (September-October in the temple. At present all the devotees, pilgrims and tourists are wholeheartedly invited into the shrine for homams, worship, prayers and rituals. The shrine remains open from 6.30 a.m. to 12.00 a.m. and 4.30 p.m. to 9.00 p.m.

The temple has 9 sacred springs-therthasm 16 Towers, 7 prakaras, 18 Vimanas and 7 mandaps.  It is to be highly noted that up to six stages from the base in the 11 tier Rajagopuram there are no single sculptures.  On the other hand, from the 7th stage only all God sculptures are present. In Mannargudi, this is a different and rare type of Rajagopuram. Theertham Tank is a bit far from the shrine. On Aani Poornima day in June-July, the float festival is celebrated here.

Address: Sri Rajagopalaswami Temple, Mannargudi-614 001, Tiruvarur Dist. Tamil Nadu

Write Your Comment