Three stages in Spiritual practice

What are the three stages in spiritual practice? Please explain us about the three stages in spiritual practice..

Yes, there are three stages in practice:

The first level, Anva Upaya, which includes pranayama, meditation, mantra chanting, exercises, and yoga.

The second level, Shakta Upaya. This is much more subtle; it is the stillness that you experience at the end of doing all these exercises; it is more internal.

There is very little that you do, in fact everything is happening. There is no doer there, nobody doing anything, yet, it is happening; you feel that Shakta Upaya, it is very subtle.

The third level, Shambava Upaya is a step beyond the Shakta Upaya; just recognition, just awareness. It suddenly dawns; you have no clue, you have no say in it, you can’t do anything about it.

You are walking, watching a sun set, suddenly, something happens, something opens up. You meet someone; suddenly, you feel some sense of elevation, joy.

Whether you are meditating, sleeping, or doing any work, suddenly an awareness, a wakefulness dawns in you. That is Shambhava Upaya; that happens with grace, blessings or love or something.

The first stage, Anva Upaya, is inevitable. The second stage, Shakta Upaya, is an obvious movement. The third stage, Shambhava Upaya, is a gift.

Note: The above content is an excerpt of Sri Sri Ravishankar Guruji’s discourse in Art of Living’s Satsang.

"Hindupad Recommends you to Buy Pure Puja Items Online from Om Bhakti". Avail 20% Flat discount on all Puja items.

Write Your Comment


  1. Bl Srivastava says:

    I could not avail the chance of Learning Trans Mutation of Late His Holiness Mahesh Yogi.
    Notw at the age of 72 , I want to learn Art of Living, but could not make up my mind how to reach the center when body could not give energy. Old age problem. With all the best
    Jai Gurudev