Stories from Shiva Purana

Shiva Puran 7 37-42.mp4-175

Shiva Puran 7 37-42.mp4-175


Shailaputri is an avatar of Goddess Durga, who was born to the Himalayan King Parvath Raj. The name shailaputri means, the daughter of the mountain king. She is also known by various names such as Bhavani, Parvati or Hemavati, the daughter of Himavat – the king of the Himalayas. Shailaputri is worshipped on the first day of Navrathri festival. By worshipping her on the first day of Navratri festival, we will get great goodness in our life.

It is another name of Goddess Durga. The goddess is worshipped on the second day of Navratri. The goddess Brahmacharini wears white clothes, a japa mala  and Kamandal in her hand. By worshipping her on the second day of navrathri festival, we can control our mind and senses, and we will get peace of mind, and can perform our activities much effectively and efficiently.

Chandraghanta is the third form of Goddess Durga. Her name Chandra-Ghanta, means her face looks bright and glitters as that of moon rays. Her worship takes place on the third day of Navaratri. She is believed to give all the prospects to the people with her grace. By worshipping her on the third day of navrathri festival, all mental and physical problems will be solved, and we will become happy with sufficient wealth.

Kushmanda is a Hindu goddess, believed to have created this entire universe with her divine smile. She is the fourth form of  Durga. Kushmanda is worshiped on the fourth day of the festival of Navratri, and she gives sound health and wealth and happiness in our life, if we sincerely worship her during the fourth day of Navratri.

Skandamata is the fifth form of Hindu Goddess Durga. Her worship takes place on the fifth day of Navaratri.

Skandamata is four-armed and rides on a lion. Lord Skanda can be seen in her lap. She possesses four arms. She holds her son Skanda in her lap. She is white in colour, and seated on the lotus. So, she is also called Goddess with a lotus-seat. Her vehicle is the lion. If we worship on the fifth day of navrathri, we will get great blessings from her as well as from his son Skanda, and can live a happy and a stress free life.

Katyayani  is the sixth form amongst Navadurga  worshipped during the Navratri celebrations. And she is worshipped during the sixth day of Navrathri. She is associated with goddess  Bhadrakali and Chandika, and traditionally she is associated with the red colour. Skanda Purana mentions that she was created for killing the demon, Mahishasura. If we sincerely worship her on the sixth day of navrathri festival, we can win our enemies and can become more bold and brave.

Kalaratri is the seventh form of the Goddess Durga. Kalaratri include Kali, Mahakali, Bhadrakali, Bhairavi, Mrityu, Rudrani, Chamunda, Chandi and Durga.
If we worship her sincerely on the seventh day of Navrathri, we can achieve all the prosperities in our life, and can become a famous and a great person in this world.

8. Mahagauri
Mahagauri is the eighth manifestation of goddess Durga. Mahagauri is worshipped on the eighth day of Navratri. Goddess Mahagauri is the giver of all necessities to her devotees. If we worship her on the eighth day of navrathri festival, we can get rid of severe mental related problems. Lack of energy in our body and general worries, problems from our enemies can be solved by her. Mahagauri has four arms.

Siddhidhatri is the ninth form of the Goddess Durga. She is worshipped on the ninth day of Navaratri. If we worship her on the ninth day of navrathri festival, she will fulfil our wishes and gives various boons to us. According to Vedic scriptures, Lord Shiva has attained all the siddhis by worshiping this Goddess.

Write Your Comment