Stories from Shiva Purana

Shiva Puran 7 37-42.mp4-175

Shiva Puran 7 37-42.mp4-175

Types of Yuga

Satya Yuga also called as Krita Yuga is considered as the golden yuga and the first yuga. In the Krita yuga, truth, kindness and faith exists all over the world. Everyone behaved with others in a gentle manner. There were no quarrels, misunderstandings, unnecessary fights and selfishness. Everyone lived happily for many years without any difficulty. All of them possessed sufficient wealth, and food crops were grown properly in all the seasons. All the men were considered as holy, pure and perfect, and women were very pure and chaste. All of them contained good health and lived for a long period of time. During the Krita Yuga, the great Vishnu Devotee, Bhakt Prahalad had ruled almost the entire earth in a prosperous manner. All the people were praised his glories and gave much respect to him and began to chant the mantras: “OM SRI PRAHALADA MAHARAJA NAMAHA” and “OM NAMO NARAYANAYA NAMAHA”.

Treta yuga is the second Yuga and this yuga also is considered as the best yuga. But compared with Krita Yuga, slight changes were there in this yuga. Small fights were made by the people, and kings were interested in expanding their territory by fighting with other kings, and bad habits also formed among the people like anger, lust, anxiety, depression and tension. But after Lord Rama was born, the bad changes were controlled to a certain extent, and people began to control their senses and lived their life in a disciplined manner. But compared with Krita yuga, treta yuga is not that much good, since jealousy and enmity was occupied in the minds of most of the people.

Dvapara Yuga is the third Yuga and in this yuga, people become addicted towards bad habits like drinking wine and enjoying lot of comforts and luxuries. Diseases also spread among the people. Unnecessary quarrels took place among the people. Bad habits like lust, anger and greedy were commonly found in almost all the people, and they couldn’t control their senses. People lived a life span for a minimum of 120 years. Till Krishna lived in the Dwaraka, due to his grace, bad activities were controlled to a certain extent, and people were lived in a moderate manner. But as soon as Lord Krishna had left his physical body, people began to suffer from lot of problems.

Kali Yuga is the fourth yuga and the present yuga. In this yuga, People commits lot of sins, and think only about themselves, and never take care of their relatives or their own parents. There will not be true love and affection between most of the couples, and for name sake only they will live with each other. Lot of divorces and marriage breaks will be there, and illegal sexual relationships also will be there. And love between men and women would be mainly based on body attraction, and not on attraction between two souls. Rich people would dominate the poor, and asked them to do extra work. At the end of the Kali yuga, in most of the work places, employees would be treated like slaves, and would be given extra work without paying extra money. Whoever raises their voice would be immediately thrown out from their jobs, and no courtesy, kindness or mercy will be there in the minds of the most of the employers. In general no good habits will there with most of the people in this Kali Yuga. It is believed that, Lord Kalki Bhagavan would take the avatar and come to this earth after 4 lakhs and odd years, and would destroy the evils and protect the good ones and maintain peace and prosperity in the earth. And after some time, he would destroy the entire earth, and again Krita Yuga would be born.

Period of each Yugas:
Satya Yuga = 4800 × 360 = 1,728,000 years
Treta Yuga = 3600 × 360 = 1,296,000 years
Dvapara Yuga = 2400 × 360 = 864,000 years
Kali Yuga = 1200 × 360 = 432,000 years

Write Your Comment