Avani Masam 2019 | Aavani Month in Tamil calendar

Avani masam or Aavani month is 5th month in traditional Tamil calendar followed in Tamil Nadu. In 2019, Avani Masam begins on August 18 and ends on September 17 (31 days).

It is one of the auspicious months for Tamil people.  Simha Sankramanam or Sun’s transition to Leo zodiac marks the beginning of Avani masam. It is also known as Simha masam in Solar calendar.

Avani Avittam is one of the major festivals in the month Avani. Tamil Brahmins change their sacred thread (Yagnopaveetham or Gayathri) on Avittam nakshatram day in Aavani month. Sundays in Avani month are dedicated to reciting prayers ‘Avani Gnayiru’.

Aavani Masam corresponds with Shravana Month & Bhadrapada Month in Marathi, Telugu, Kannada, and Gujarati Amavasyanth calendars and Bhadrapada month in North Indian Hindi calendars. Aavani coincides with Chinga month in Kerala calendar and Bhadra Month in Bengali calendar.

Festivals & Auspicious Days in Aavani Masam 2019

Sunday, 18 August  2019 – Kajari Teej

Saturday, 24 August  2019 – Sri Krishna Janmashtami (Gokulashtami)

Monday, 26 August  2019 – Aja Ekadashi

Tuesday, 27 August  2019 – Aja Ekadashi

Sunday, 1 September 2019 – Hartalika Teej

Monday, 2 September 2019 – Ganesh Chaturthi (Vinayaka Chavithi)

Tuesday, 3 September 2019 – Rishi Panchami

Friday, 6 September 2019 – Radha Ashtami

Monday, 9 September 2019 – Parsva Ekadashi

Thursday, 12 September 2019 – Anant Chaturdashi

Thursday, 12 September 2019 – Ganesh Visarjan (Ganesh Nimajjanam)

Saturday, 14 September 2019 – Bhadrapad Purnima

Saturday, 14 September 2019 – Pratipada Shraddha, Pitru Paksha Begins

Tuesday, 17 September 2019 – Kanya Sankranti

In Previous Years

In 2018, Avani Masam begins on August 17 and ends on September 16.

Write Your Comment

7 Comments

  1. Maniratna says:

    is tamil aavani month good for new business

  2. Moh says:

    how to do aavani gnayiru puja at home

  3. Dandapaani says:

    auspicious days & time in tamil month avani

  4. Fulki says:

    homam in avani month is a good month

  5. Raghukumara says:

    prayers for lord shiva for month of adi and avani

  6. Ehimay says:

    revathi star avani month date in english month

  7. Aja says:

    what is mahalakshmi fast in the month of avani