Navadurga, 9 Forms of Durga, Nine Goddesses of Durga Navratri

Navadurga or the 9 forms or manifestations of Durga are the nine Goddesses worshipped on nine festive nights during Durga Navratri. Though, the nine manifestations or avatars of Durga that are worshipped during Navaratri may differ from place to place, the standard or primary Navadurga Goddesses remain same for every region.

Goddess Durga is a form of Shakti, the Mother Goddess. Three main forms of Shakti – Mahakali, Maha Saraswati and Mahalaxmi are evolved from the Trimurtis – Lord Shiva, Lord Brahma and Lord Vishnu respectively.

Each of these three main Goddesses gave rise to 3 more manifestations, who are referred as Nav-Durga. On each day of Durga Navratri, one of the Navdurga Goddesses is worshipped.

  1. Shailputri Mata: First Navdurga Mata, worshipped on first day of Navratri i.e. Ashwin Shukla Pratipada (Kalasha Sthapana / Ghatsthapana). Read more about Shailputri Mata.
  2. Brahmacharini Maa: Second Navdurga Mata, worshipped on 2nd day of Navratri i.e. Ashwin Shukla Dwitiya (Preeti Dwitiya). Read further on Brahmacharini Mata.
  3. Mata Chandraghanta: Third aspect of Durga. Chandraghanta is worshipped on third day of Navratri i.e. Ashwin Shukla Tritiya (Sindhura Teej). Read more about Chandraghanta Maa.
  4. Mata Kushmanda: 4th aspect of Goddess Durga. Kushmanda Maa is worshipped on 4th day of Navratri i.e. Ashwin Shukla Chaturthi. Read about Kushmanda Mata Navdurga.
  5. Skandamata: Fifth manifestation of Durga Maa. Skandamata is worshipped on 5th day of Navratri i.e. Ashwin Shukla Panchami (Lalita Panchami / Upang Lalita Vrat). Read in detail about Skandamata Navdurga.
  6. Katyayani Mata: Sixth aspect of Navdurga, Katyayani Mata is worshipped on Maha Sashti, 6th day of Navratri i.e Ashwin Shukla Sashti. Read further on Katyayani Mata Navdurga.
  7. Kalaratri Maa: Seventh manifestation among Navdurga forms. Kalratri Maa is worshipped on 7th day of Navratri i.e. Ashwin Shukla Saptami (Maha Saptami). Read in detail about Kalratri Mata.
  8. MahaGouri Mata: Eighth form of Navdurga. Maha Gauri is worshipped on eighth day of Navratri i.e. Ashwina Shukla Ashtami (Durga Ashtami). Read more about Maha Gauri Mata.
  9. Siddhidatri Mata: Ninth and final aspect of Navdurga Mata. Siddhidatri Maa is worshipped on ninth day of Navratri i.e. Ashwin Shukla Navami (Maha Navami). Read more on Siddhidatri Navdurga Maa.

First day of Navratri

Second day of Navratri

Third day of Navratri

Fourth day of Navratri

Fifth day of Navratri

Sixth day of Navratri

Seventh day of Navratri

Eighth day of Navratri

Ninth day of Navratri

Leave a Comment.


  1. name and describe the 9 avatar of durga

    Comment by Kautilya at September 26, 2013 at 12:55 pm
  2. information of nav avtar of devi in marathi

    Comment by Barsaat at September 19, 2013 at 5:03 pm
  3. godes ma nav durga avtar detail in hindi

    Comment by Pulkita at April 20, 2013 at 7:47 am
  4. name and photo of 5th godess of navratra

    Comment by Kanasu at April 16, 2013 at 7:55 pm
  5. What are d mantras for chanting in d worship of mahagauri (ashtmi)

    Comment by Jalbala at April 14, 2013 at 9:33 pm
  6. importance of vasant navratra and mantra of nav roop

    Comment by Tanav at April 14, 2013 at 6:20 pm
  7. which goddess is worshipped don 4th 5th and 6th navratri

    Comment by Renaud at April 14, 2013 at 5:44 pm
  8. how to worship on 4 th day of marathi

    Comment by Sohan at April 13, 2013 at 9:51 pm
  9. Hi Hindupad,
    Its wonderful to know that each durga has to be worshipped each day with each mantra to dedicated to each devi to be chanted


    Comment by Shiv Sharma at March 28, 2012 at 4:27 am
  10. get more detail at navratra pooja at this link Ghatasthapana, also known as Kalashsthapana Puja, is performed on the first day of Navaratri and Dasain. Ghatsthapana involves invoking Goddess Shakti in Kalash or Pot and symbolically on the growing shoots of grains.

    Comment by myguru at March 22, 2012 at 10:45 am