Udupi Paryaya 2018

Udupi Shri Krishna 1

Udupi Shri Krishna 1

‘Udupi Paryaya’ is a bi-annual celebration observed in January when one of the Ashtamatha Peetadhipathi takes over the Krishna Pooja Paryaya at Shri Krishna Mutt for next two years. In 2018, Udupi Paryaya date is January 18.

On this day Shri Palimaru Matha’s Shri Vidyadheesha Teertha Swamiji will ascend the sacrosanct throne of Sarvajnapeetha of Udupi. Shri Swamiji had already performed ‘Baale Muhurta’ and ‘Akki Muhurta’.

On 4 January 2018, Sri Palimaru Swamiji has also performed Paryaya Pura Pravesha. His Holiness Sri Sri Vidyadheesha Teertha Swamiji, after completing his paryaya poorva sanchara entered into Rajatapeetapura(Udupi). He was welcomed at the historical Jodukatte by the citizens of Udupi and surrounding places.

A public invitation released by Palimaru Matha states..

“Jagadguru Sri Madhwacharya Moola Maha Samsthanam, Shri Hruishikesha teertha peetham, Shri Palimaru Mataha, Udupi

Pioneered by Shri Madhwacharya and progressed by Shri Vadiraja Gurusarvabhouma for the sacred Krishna-Pooja Paryaya and the quotidian service of Lord Krishna on Thursday, the 18th, January 2018, in the auspicious Dhanurlagna at 6:35 AM, successor to the revered pontiff of the century Pratah Smaraneeya Shri Vidyamanya Teertha Swamiji, the present pontiff Shri Vidyadheesha Teertha Swamiji will ascend the sacrosanct pouous throne of Sarvajnapeetha

As per the centuries-old tradition and culture of Udupi Shri Krishna Matha, all the pontiffs of the Eight Mathas of Udupi will be honoured at Badagumalige, which will be followed by the traditional Darbar at Rajangana.

We would be most honoured if you could solicit your gracious presence by attending the aforementioned and thereby seek the blessings of Shri Rama – Shri Krishna.”

What is Udupi Paryaya Mahotsavam?

Paryaya Mahotsavam is a religious ritual which takes place every alternate year in Krishna Matha (Krishna Temple) of Udupi. The puja and administration of Krishna Matha is distributed among the Swamijis or seers of Astha Mathas established by Dvaita philosopher Sri Madhvacharya which is in practice since eight centuries. Each swamiji of every mutt gets a chance to perform puja to Udupi Sri Krishna by rotation for a period of two years.

During paryaya, the puja and administration of Krishna Matha is handed over from Swamiji of one of Ashta Matha to the Swamiji of another Ashta Matha. It takes place every two years in even numbered years on January 18.

The rotation of the privilege of worshipping Lord Krishna amongst the eight mathas is fixed. The mutts includes Palimaru, Adamaru, Krishnapur, Puthige, Shirur, Sodhe, Kaniyooru and Pejawar.

Write Your Comment