Pongal 2012 – Bhogi Pongal 2012, Surya Pongal, Mattu Pongal, Kaanum Pongal 2012

Pongal 2012 dates: Pongal is celebrated for 4 days in Tamil Nadu as Bhogi Pongal, Surya Pongal, Mattu Pongal & Kaanuma Pongal. In 2012, Pongal date is January 15 as the it starts on 14 January with Bhogi Pongal. Kaanum Pongal (January 17) marks the end of Pongal in Tamil Nadu. It is a celebration of thanksgiving to the nature.

Pongal is celebrated as Makara Sankranti in other parts of South India and many parts of North India.

It is known as ‘Lohri’ festival in Haryana, Punjab, Delhi, Himachal Pradesh, and some other North Indian regions.

Pongal 2012 dates or Calendar:

Bhogi Pongal – 14 January 2012

Surya Pongal – 15 January 2012 (Thai Pongal)

Mattu Pongal – 16 January 2012

Kaanum Pongal – 17 January 2012

Pongal marks the Makara sankramana of Sun (Sun’s transition into Makara rashi or Capricorn). Makara Sankramana punya snana are performed in holy rivers like Cauvery, Pampa, and Vaigai in Tamil Nadu. Rameshwaram temple and Madurai Meenkashi Temple are decked with luminous lamps to mark the beginning of holy Thai month.  Palani Subramanya temple also decks up for Thai masam special pujas and Thaipusam arrangements during Pongal.

Write Your Comment