Oops! It appears that you have disabled your Javascript. In order for you to see this page as it is meant to appear, we ask that you please re-enable your Javascript!

Makar Sankranthi, Sun’s Transit into Makara Rashi (Capricorn)

Sankranti, also known as Makar Sankranthi, marks the Suns transit into Makara Rashi. This day marks the beginning of Uttarayana Punyakalam. It is celebrated throughout India with various names. Makara Sankramana Snan is the most observed ritual during Sankranti.

Sankranti is celebrated as Pongal in Tamil Nadu for three days. In Andhra Pradesh and Karnataka, Sankranthi is celebrated for four days. Bhogi, Sankranti, Kanuma and Mukkanuma are the four festivals during Makar Sankranthi.

Sankranti  Days:

Day 1: Bhogi

Day 2: Sankranti

Day 3: Kanuma

Day 4: Mukkanuma

Bhogi marks the beginning of Sankranti festival. Sacred bonfire is the main ritual during Bhogi. This ritual is called as ‘Bhogi Mantalu in Andhra Pradesh. Kite flying, Rangoli designs (Pookalam, kolam or muggulu), Gobbemma, Gangireddu and haridasu are the main aspects of Sankranthi festival. Kanuma, third day during Sankranti festival, is associated with the legend of lifting of Govardhan Giri by Lord krishna. Mukkanuma, the final day of Sankranti festival, is celebrated to worship cattle.

Write Your Comment


  1. Pradyun says:

    moon sign april 2013 prediction for makar rashi