Navratri begins with Ghatasthapana, 16 October 2012

Today, 16 October 2012 Navratri Durga Puja begins with Ghatasthapana (Kalasha Sthapana). Sharad Navratri falls during Shukla Paksha of Ashwin Month as per all Hindu calendars. In 2012, Navratri is celebrated from October 16 to October 24 (Vijaya Dashami).

Colour of the day: Red

Naivedyam of the day (Food offering to Goddess Durga): ‘Ghee’ / Sweet Boondi & Chickpeas.

As part of Navadurga method of puja, Goddess Shailputri Maa (first aspect of Navadurga) is worshipped. In Navadevi method of puja procedure, Sri Balatripura Sundari Devi is worshipped.

As part of Dasamahavidya procedure of puja, Goddess Mahakali Mahavidya is worshipped. In Saptamatrika puja process, Brahmi Puja is performed.

Navratri is celebrated throughout India, mainly Maharashtra, Gujarat, Himachal Pradesh, Uttar Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan other North Indian states and South India.

In eastern parts of India like West Bengal, Assam, some parts of Odisha, etc.. Durga puja begins on Maha Sashti (20 October 2012).

9 Colours of Navratri 2012

Navratri Ghatasthapana Time, 16 October 2012

9 Types of Naivedyam for Navratri 2012 (Food offerings to Goddess Durga)

Navadurga: 9 Aspects of Goddess Durga

Navratri Vrat Katha (Story), Pujan Vidhi (Procedure)

Navratri Stotras, Mantras, Slokas to chant during Durga Puja

Write Your Comment