Navratri begins, 13 October 2015

Goddess Devi

Goddess Devi

On 13 October 2015 Navratri begins. Durga Sharan Navratri, Ashwin Navratri, Sharad Navratri, is the most celebrated Hindu festival across the world. As the name suggests, it is celebrated for 9-nights.

In 2015, Navratri begins on 13th October and ends on 21st October. In most of the places, Vijayadashami is celebrated on 22nd October.

Shukla Paksha Pratipada marks the beginning of Navratri and Ashwin Shukla Navami (Mahanavami) / Ashwin Shukla Dashami (Vijayadashami) marks the conclusion or culmination of Navratri.

During Navratri festival, on each day one of the forms of Goddess Durga is worshipped. Navadurga Goddesses, Navadevi Goddesses, Dashamahavidya Goddesses, Saptamatrika or Ashtamatrika Goddesses, Dashamatrika Goddesses, etc. are worshipped.

Ghatasthapana (Kalasha Sthapana) marks the beginning of Navratri and Udwasan (Visarjan) is the ritual which culminates this festival.

In Maharashtra, Gujarat and some other North Indian states, there is a tradition of wearing nine different colours of dresses during the nine days of Navratri. Here is the Navratri 2015 colours list.

Nine different Naivedyams (Food offerings) to Durga Mata for Navratri.

First day of Navratri

Second day of Navratri

Third day of Navratri

Fourth day of Navratri

Fifth day of Navratri

Sixth day of Navratri

Seventh day of Navratri

Eighth day of Navratri

Ninth day of Navratri

Read here about the preparation of Navratri recipes (Durga Puja recipes): Aloo Posto, Aamer Chutney, Aloo Potol, Baingan Bhaja, Navratri Recipes and many more…

Kalasha Sthapana Vidhi

Write Your Comment


  1. Sukriti says:

    vivah lagan muhurat with lagan time in december from kashi panchang in hindi version