Ekakshara Ganapati: Ganesha’s Form of Meditation

Ekakshara Ganapati, Ganesh’s form of Meditation

Ekakshara Ganapati, Ganesh’s form of Meditation

Ekakshara Ganapati is the seventeenth of the 32 forms of Lord Ganapati. Lord Ganesha is one of the most popular Hindu God worshipped in India and is believed to be the remover of all obstacles in the lives of his devotees. This is represented by the single syllable or beejakshara called the seed letter “Gam”. This form symbolizes the primordial sound “Om”.

In this form the Lord sits in a yogic lotus posture (Padmasana) with four hands riding his Mushika Vahana (Rat). His appearance is in red hue complexion and covered with red silk. Also in this form he is third eyed and with crescent moon on his crown like Lord Shiva. The Lord’s left hand shows the Varda Mudra, granting of boons and on his main right hand holds pomegranate. Both his upper left and right hands hold elephant goad and noose.

Uttara Nakshatra is associated with this form of Ganapati. It is believed that worshipping the Lord in this form helps devotees to gain control on the mind.

Ekakshara Ganapati Mantra and its translation:

Raktorakangangkasha Kusumayutah Tundialah Chandramoulih

Nethraih Yuktistribhih Vamanakaracharano Beejapundadhanah

Hastagra Kalusa Pashankasharada Varado Nagavaktrohi Bhoosho

Devaha Padamasano No Havatu Natsuro Bhootayae Vighnarajaha

“Ganapati identified with the word OM. He has four arms. He is red in colour. His hands hold the single tusk, the elephant goad, the noose and the cake modaka. Sometimes, he wears, with the extremity of his trunk.”

One of the famous temples associated with this form of Ganapati can be seen in Hampi. The temples in Thiruvananthapuram have the paintings of the 32 forms of Ganapati. Also the temples in Chamarajanagar and Nanjangud has all the 32 forms of Ganesha Sculptures.

Ekakshara Ganapati Dhyana Mantra

Write Your Comment