Oops! It appears that you have disabled your Javascript. In order for you to see this page as it is meant to appear, we ask that you please re-enable your Javascript!

Durga Puja 2018 begins with Maha Shashthi Puja

Durga Puja, the five-day puja to Goddess Durga, begins with Maha Shashthi Puja in West Bengal, Assam, Orissa, and Bangladesh. The festival begins with Shashthyadi Kalparambha on 15 October 2018.

Usually, the first phase of Durga Puja festivities starts off with Mahalaya. In 2018, Mahalaya was on October 15 and the festivities go on till Bisarjan on October 19.

Scriptures say this year the goddess will arrive riding on a palanquin and will depart riding on an elephant. Though the consequence of arriving on palanquin is rough weather, the departure on elephant indicates a good harvest.

Nabapatrika Puja, Durga Ashtami Pooja, Sandhi Puja, and Mahanabami Puja, and Bisarjan are the important rituals of Durga Puja.

Write Your Comment