Onam Vallam Kali: Traditional boat race during Onam festival in Kerala

Vallam Kali in Malayalam literally means boat race. In Kerala, it is the traditional boat race. The boat used in this race is paddled war canoe. In autumn, during the season of the harvest festival Onam, it is mainly conducted with full vigor and joy. Many types of traditional boats that are paddled longboat of Kerala are included in Vallam Kali.

The major event is the race of Chundan Vallam which is known as snake boat. Therefore, in English, Vallam Kali means Snake Boat Race. In the recent years, the state government and the central government is promoting and conducting the event through the tourism department and with the help and support of the public too.

In the race, other kinds of boats that do participate in several events are Odi Vallam, Churulan Vallam, Veppu Vallam (Vaipu Vallam), Iruttukuthy Vallam, Karichal Chundan, Kochu Vallam and Vadakkanody Vallam.

The most renowned of these races are

  1. Nehru Trophy Boat Race in Punnamada Lake, Alappuzha
  2. President’s Trophy Boat Race in Ashtamudi lake, Kollam, Kallada Boat Race in Kallada River, Kollam
  3. Champakulam Moolam Boat Race
  4. Thazhathangadi Boat Race (Kottayam Boat Race), Kottayam
  5. Payippad Jalotsavam, the oldest snake boat race
  6. Kumarakom Boat Race
  7. Rajiv Gandhi Boat Race, Pulinkunnu
  8. ATDC Boat Race, Alappuzha
  9. Neerettupuram Pampa Boat Race
  10. Kavanattinkara Boat Race
  11. Karuvatta Boat Race
  12. Kumarakom Arpookara Vanitha Jalamela
  13. Mahatma Boat Race, Mannar
  14. Kottapuram Boat Race
  15. Thazhathangadi Boat Race, Kottayam
  16. Kodungallur and Kumaranasan Smaraka Jalotsavam, Pallana
  17. Indira Gandhi Boat Race, in Kochi Lake
  18. Kaithappuzhakkayal Boat Race, in Kaithappuzha Lake, Panangad/Kumbalam, Kochi.
  19. Kannetty Sree Narayana Boat Race, Karunagappally

Write Your Comment


  1. Shameek says:

    2012 sree narayana trophy boat race final karunagappally

  2. Nutan says:

    www pampa boat race chundan vallam final in 2013