Oops! It appears that you have disabled your Javascript. In order for you to see this page as it is meant to appear, we ask that you please re-enable your Javascript!

Margashira Maasa 2018-2019 in Kannada Calendar

Margasira maasa or Margashira month is the ninth month as per Kannada calendar. In 2018-2019, Margasira masa starts on December 8 and ends on 6 January 2019. Margasira month is considered as auspicious month for Kannada people as it is the favorite month for Lord Krishna.

The major festivals during Margasira month are Subramanya Shasti, Mokshada Ekadashi, Hanumath Vratham, Datta Jayanti and Dhanur Sankramana punyakalam.

Subramanya Shasti, the sixth day in the month of Margasira, is celebrated with lot of gusto and devotion in Kukke Subramanya swamy temple, Karnataka.

Shukla Paksha in Kannada Margasira Masa 2018 starts on December 8 and ends on December 22.

Krishna paksha in Kannada Margashira masa 2018-19 begins on December 23 and ends on January 6, 2019.

Auspicious Days & Important Festivals in Margashira Masa 2018-19

Wednesday, 12 December 2018 – Vivah Panchami

Thursday, 13 December 2018 – Margashirsha Lakshmi Vrata

Sunday, 16 December 2018 – Dhanu Sankranti

Tuesday, 18 December 2018 – Mokshada Ekadashi

Tuesday, 18 December 2018 – Gita Jayanti

Wednesday, 19 December 2018 – Mokshada Ekadashi

Thursday, 20 December 2018 – Margashirsha Lakshmi Vrata

Saturday, 22 December 2018 – Margashirsha Purnima

Saturday, 22 December 2018 – Dattatreya Jayanti (Datta Jayanti)

Thursday, 27 December 2018 – Margashirsha Lakshmi Vrata

Tuesday, 1 January 2019 – Saphala Ekadashi

Thursday, 3 January 2019 – Margashirsha Lakshmi Vrata

Saturday, 5 January 2019 – Surya Grahan (Solar Eclipse)

It is to note that according to North Indian calendars, Margashirsha month begins on November 24 and ends on December 22.

Write Your Comment

3 Comments

  1. rekha says:

    Is it true that weddings should not be performed in this period??

    • Naveen Sanagala says:

      No.. There will be some auspicious muhurthas for marriages in Margashira Maasa. Paushya Maasa is Shunya Maasa..

  2. Prinita says:

    Jyeshta masa in karnataka for the year 2014