Ashta Bhairava Murthi, Eight Aspects of Lord Bhairava

Maha Kaal Bhairav

Maha Kaal Bhairav

Ashta Bhairava Murthi are the eight aspects of Lord Bhairava (a manifestation of Lord Shiva). Also known as Bhairo, Bheruji, Kaala Bhairava, Vairavar, or Bhaironor, Bhairava is the fierce form of Lord Shiva. Bhairava is an important deity in Varanasi, Ujjain & parts of Tamil Nadu, Rajasthan and Nepal.

Bhairava appears with a dog as his Vahana (vehicle). He is depicted wearing twisted serpents as earrings, bracelets and Yagnopavitha. Tiger skin and human bones serve him as clothing. Buddhists and Jains also worship Bhairava as a main deity.

Ashtabhairava Murthi, Eight aspects of Lord Bhairava

  1. Asithaanga Bhairava
  2. Ruru Bhairava
  3. Chanda Bhairava
  4. Krodha Bhairava
  5. Unmattha Bhairava
  6. Kapaala Bhairava
  7. Bheeshana Bhairava
  8. Samhaara Bhairava

"Hindupad Recommends you to Buy Pure Puja Items Online from Om Bhakti". Avail 20% Flat discount on all Puja items.

Write Your Comment


  1. Raju says:

    can you provide images for all 8 bhairava murthi

  2. Jayanthi says:

    Can you please kindly let me know Ashta Moorthy Temples in India?