Amavasya 2018 | Amavasya Vrat dates

There are 12 Amavasya in 2018 – one in each month as per Gregorian calendar. Amavasya has great significance in Hindu rituals and Hindu calendar.

Ashada Amavasya is referred to as Chukkala Amavasya; Shravana Amavasya is celebrated as Polala Amavasya (Bail Pola), Bhadrapada / Ashwin Amavasya is observed as Mahalaya Amavasya (Sarva Pitru Amavasya).

Somvati Amavasya (Amavasya on Monday), Shani Amavasya (Amavasya on Saturday), Bhaumvati Amavasya (Amavasya on Tuesday) and Bhanu Amavasya (Amavasya on Sunday) are the meritorious Amavasya Vrat. In 2018, Somvati Amavasya falls once, Shanaischari Amavasya twice, Bhaumvati Amavasya thrice and Bhanu Amavasya once.

Amavasya Upvaas, Fasting on Amavasya

Amavasya Vrat – Types of Amavasya Vrat

Amavasya Tharpanam – Benefits of Amavasya Tharpan Rituals

On Amavasya, devotees also offer Pitru Tharpan, Pinda Daan and other Pitru rituals.

Amavasya 2018 dates

Day, Date – In Purnimant Panchangam | Amavasyant Panchangam

Tuesday, 16 January 2018 – Magh Amavasya | Paush Amavasya, Mauni Amavasya – Bhaumvati Amavasya

Thursday, 15 February 2018 – Phalgun Amavasya | Magha Amavasya

Saturday, 17 March 2018 – Chaitra Amavasya | Falgun Amavasya – Shanaischari Amavasya

Monday, 16 April 2018 – Vaishakh Amavasya | Chaitra Amavasya – Somvati Amavasya

Tuesday, 15 May 2018 – Adhik Jyeshta Amavasya | Vaishakha Amavasya – Bhaumvati Amavasya

Wednesday, 13 June 2018 – Nija Jyeshta Amavasya | Adhik Jyeshta Amavasya

Friday, 13 July 2018 – Ashada Amavasya | Nija Jyeshta Amavasya

Saturday, 11 August 2018 – Shravan Amavasya | Ashada Amavasya – Shanaischari Amavasya

Sunday, 9 September 2018 – Bhadrapada Amavasya | Shravan Amavasya – Bhanu Amavasya

Tuesday, 9 October 2018 – Ashwin Amavasya | Bhadrapada Amavasya – Bhaumvati Amavasya

Wednesday, 7 November 2018 – Kartik Amavasya | Ashwin Amavasya

Friday, 7 December 2018 – Margashirsha Amavasya | Kartik Amavasya

Saturday, 5 January 2019 – Poush Amavasya | Margashirsha Amavasya – Shanaischari Amavasya

Monday, 4 February 2019 – Magha Amavasya | Paush Amavasya – Somvati Amavasya

Wednesday, 6 March 2019 – Falgun Amavasya | Magha Amavasya

Friday, 5 April 2019 – Chaitra Amavasya | Phalguna Amavasya

Write Your Comment