Tripurantaka | Shiva as Destroyer of three Magical Cities

Tripurantaka shiva

Tripurantaka shiva

Lord Shiva is also known as Tripurantaka since he destroyed the three magical cities of the demons. The three demon princes named Taarakaaksha, Kamalaaksha and Vidyunmaali, performed severe penance on Lord Brahma and due to that, Lord Brahma had gifted three magical cities which would float in the sky. Lord Brahma had also granted boon to them that they would live for several years in the three cities, and they would be destroyed only by a powerful deity.

These wonderful cities were created by the demon architect Mayasura, who was an expert architect similar to Lord Vishwakarma, who is the architect for the Devas. Mayasura was the one, who created beautiful palaces for Ravana, Vibhishana, Prahalada, Namuchi and Mahabali. Due to the wonderful boon granted by Brahma, the demons become very happy and created lot of nuisance in the universe. They used to travel in these three moving cities and attacked the demigods and the sages. Due to that the demigods and the sages began to worship Lord Shiva in order to destroy the terrible demons. Lord Shiva asked them to wait for the appropriate time.

After some time, Lord Shiva traveled in his chariot, and destroyed the three magical cities along with the demons, with the spark on his third eye. Tripurantaka, is the supreme form of Lord Shiva, and he was awarded this title by the Devas, since he was the destroyer of the Tripuras, three magical cities of the demons. The idol of Lord Tripurantaka is installed in The Veeratteswarar Temple near Chidambaram, and another idol of Tripurantaka is also found at Tiruvirkolam Shiva Temple, which is situated near Chennai.

Lord Shiva is worshipped by millions and millions of people in the world, and by chanting his Shiva Mantra, “OM NAMAH SHIVAYA”, we would get spiritual bliss, and all of our tensions would be removed from our mind.


Write Your Comment