History of Ugadi, Yugadi – Telugu and Kannada New Year Day

Ugadi or YugadiUgadi is the New Years Day for the people of Andhra Pradesh and Karnataka. It is also celebrated in Maharashtra as Gudi Padwa. Ugadi 2022 date is April 2. Sindhi people observe the same day or the following day as Sindhi New Years Day, Cheti Chand. Since the Saka calendar begins with the […]

Payo Vrata 2022 | Vishnu Payo Vratham in Phalguna Masam

Payo Vratham is a vow dedicated to Lord Vishnu especially observed in some regions in Andhra Pradesh during Phalguna masam. Payo Vratham is observed for 12 days which starts on Phalguna Shukla Padyami and ends on Phalguna Shukla Dwadashi. It is mentioned in Shri Bhagavatham. In 2022, Payo Vratham begins on March 3 and end […]

Nagoba Jathara 2022 | Nagoba Jatara at Keslapur in Telangana

Nagoba Jathara is a five-day annual Jatara or Fair celebrated at Keslapur Nagoba Temple in Indravelli mandal of Adilabad district, Telangana. In 2022, Nagoba Jathara begins on February 1. The Mandagajili puja and Betal puja will be held on February 3 and 4 respectively. The presiding deity of Keslapur temple is Seshanag (Serpent God) with […]

Telugu Festivals in 2016 – Major Telugu Festivals Calendar 2016 in AP & Telangana

Telugu Festivals in 2016 – Major Telugu Festivals Calendar 2016 in AP & Telangana.. Telugu people are very traditional in celebrating Hindu festivals. Various important Hindu festivals or Telugu pandugalu are celebrated in Andhra Pradesh & Telangana throughout the year. This article consists of a list of Telugu Festivals celebrated in 2016. Sankranthi, Maha Shivarathri, […]

Atla Thaddi, Atla Thaddhe Vratam – Thadiya Gauri Puja during Ashwayuja Masam

Atla Thaddhe is one of the most celebrated regional festivals of Andhra Pradesh and some places of Karnataka. Atla Thaddhe is celebrated on Aswayuja Bahula Thadiya, generally comes in October or November. In 2014, Atla Thaddhe date is October 10. Atla Thaddhe is dedicated to worship Goddess Gauri. This is purely a women festival. On this […]

Vikrutinama Samvatsara Ugadi – Vikruthi Nama Samvatsara Ugadi

Vikrutinama Samvatsara Ugadi or the first day of Vikruthi Nama Samvatsaram is Telugu New Year and Kannada New Year day in traditional Shalivahana Shaka Calendar followed in Andhra Pradesh and Karnataka. In 2010, Ugadi date is March 16. Vikrutinama Samvatsaram is the 24th year among 60 years of traditional Shalivahana Shaka system of Kaalachakram. Vikrutinama […]