Dasamahavidya, Dus Mahavidyas (Dasa Mahavidya)


Dasamahavidya, also spelt as Dus Mahavidya or Dasa mahavidya, are a group of ten aspects of the Divine Mother or Shakti. In Sanskrit, Mahavidya means the great knowledge or wisdom. The ten Goddesses are known as the givers of great knowledge. Devi Bhagavata Purana describes the importance and spiritual significance of Dasamahavidya. Here are the […]

Tripurasundari, Goddess Tripurasundari Mahavidya

Goddess Tripurasundari is one of the dasamahavidyas who is the Goddess of Srichakra. She is also known as Goddess Rajarajeshwari meaning the one who rules the universe. She is said to rule the three cities of Tripura. But in actual these refer to the three aspects of physical , subtle and supreme deities and she controls all […]

Lalita Jayanti, 28 December 2012

Today, 28 December 2012 is Lalita Jayanti, Shodashi Mahavidya Jayanti, or Lalitha Tripurasundari Jayanti. It is the incarnation day of Goddess Lalitha. Lalita Jayanti falls on Margashirsha Purnima. Shodashi Mahavidya is referred to as the third Dashamavidya Goddess. Dasamahavidya are a group ten powerful manifestations of Goddess Shakti. Here you can read more about Lalitha […]