Shankaracharya Peethas: Puri, Dwarka, Badrinath & Sringeri



Jagadguru Sri Adi Sankaracharya had established four peethams in different places at four directions of india , apart from the fifth peetham which he established for himself at Kanchipuram !

Here are the details of the peethams…

1) Poorvamnaya Shri Govardhan Peetham
(Rigveda- Eastern Monastry)
Located At Jagannath Puri, Orissa.
The First Shankaracharya of Puri Peetham was Swami Sri Padmapada Acharya Swamiji.
The present Sankaracharya is Swami Sri Nischalananda Saraswathi Swamiji.

2) Paschimamnaya Shri Dwaraka Sharada Peetham
(Samaveda-Western Monastry)
Located at Dwarka, Jamnagar, Gujrat.
The First Shankaracharya of Dwarka Peetham was Swami Sri Hastamalaka Acharya Swamiji.
The present Shankaracharya is Swami Sri Swaroopananda Saraswati Swamiji.

3) Uttaramnaya Shri Jyotish Peetham
(Atharva Veda-Northen Monastry)
Located at Badri, Uttarakhand.
The First Shankar Acharya of Jyoteesh Peetham was Swami Sri Totaka Acharya Swamiji.
The present Shankaracharya is Swami Sri Swarupananda Sarasvati Garu .

4) Dakshinamnaya Sri Sarada Peetham
(Yajurveda-Southern Monastry)
Located at Sringeri, Karnataka.
The First Sankaracharya of Sarada Peetham was Swami Sri Sureshwara Acharya Garu (Mandana Mishra)
The present Shankaracharya is Swami Sri Bharati Teertha Swamiji.

The Gujarat Peetham and Uttarakhand Peetham, both are being taken care by Swami Sri Swaroopananda Saraswati Swamiji.

Jagadguru Sri Adi Sankaracharya, after his various tours through most parts of India, settled down at Kanchipuram. At Kanchipuram, he established a Math(peetham) for himself to spend his evening years and founded a line of successors after him on the Peetham. At present the presiding Pontiff is Pujyasree Jayendra Saraswati Swamigal, the 69th Acharya of the Peetham, and Pujyasree Sankara Vijayendra Saraswati Swamigal has been initiated into sanyasa and nominated successor Acharya.

Write Your Comment


  1. VIJAY ANAND says:


    i want to know details of jivit putrika vrat in 1970 which is organised by in east up and bihar in aswin month

    jivirputrika vrat- day date in 1970

    kindly provide me bellow details in my e-mail id