Panchayatana Puja, Worship of Five Principal Deities

Panchayatana Puja is one of the procedures of worship in Smarta Sampradaya of Hinduism. The origin of Panchayatana Puja dates back to Adi Shankara Bhagavatpada times in 8th century. It is a procedure of worshipping five primordial deities of Hindus – Ganesha, Shiva, Vishnu, Devi, and Surya.

Based on the tradition of the devotee (performer of puja), Ishta Devata idol is installed or invoked in the center and the other four idols square around it in puja place.

Depending on the deity placed in the center, the Panchayatana Puja is named. If Lord Ganesha idol is placed in the center, the puja is known as Ganapati Panchayatana Puja.

Write Your Comment


  1. Brahmaanand says:

    books of shiva panchayatana puja vidhanam in telugu

  2. Anand says:

    Panchayatana puja is the system of worshipping five deities. These deities include Lord Surya, Goddess Devi, Lord Vishnu, Lord Ganesha and Lord Shiva.
    We offer Panchayatana Puja Set in the form of 5 natural stones namely Salagrama, Sonabathra, Banalingam, Swarnamuki, and Surya.
    Please visit or call 09940378383. Free Courier Charges to customers in India.


    Om Namo Sakala Deevata Sidhaye Namaha :