Oops! It appears that you have disabled your Javascript. In order for you to see this page as it is meant to appear, we ask that you please re-enable your Javascript!

Durga Puja 2011 – Durga Pooja 2011 dates and Durga Puja Bengal Schedule or Calendar 2011

Explore this post for Durga Puja 2011 – Durga Pooja 2011 dates and Durga Puja Bengal Schedule or Calendar 2011. Durga Puja is one of the most celebrated festivals in Bengal. Durga Pooja starts with Mahalaya, the first phase of the waxing moon in Aashin maas (Ashwin month). Mahashashti, also known as Durga Puja shashti, is the inauguration day of Durga Puja in Bengal

Here is Durga Puja 2011 calendar or dates or schedule in Bengal:

Mahalaya Durga Puja – 27 September, 2011 (Mahalaya Amavasya)

Maha Sasthi Durga Puja – 2 October 2011

Maha Saptami Durga Puja – 3 October 2011

Mahashtami Durga Puja – 4 October 2011 (Durgashtami Puja)

Navami Durga Puja – 5 October 2011 (Mahanabami or Durga Navami)

Vijaya Dasami Durga Puja – 6 October 2011 (Bijoya Dashami)

The main Durga Pooja starts on Maha Saptami. Mahanavami marks the conclusion of Durga Puja. Durga Puja is performed for three days – Durga Shasthi, Mahashtami and Maha Navami.

Durga Puja is celebrated with lot of gusto in cities of West Bengal like Kolkata, Siliguri, Darjeeling, Jalpaiguri, Durgapur, Bishnupur, Krishnanagar, Chandan Nagar, and Midnapur. Durga Puja is a scintillating festival even the cities outside Bengal like Bangalore, Mysore, Mumbai, Delhi, Lucknow, and towns in Assam, Orissa, and Sikkim.

The Hindu communities especially Bengali community residing outside India celebrate Durga Puja in tremendous manner. Durga Puja is the biggest Hindu celebration in USA (Los Angeles, Dallas, Boston, New York, Texas, and many more cities in America), UK (London, Leicester, Birmingham, Leeds), Australia (Sydney, Melbourne, Brisbane, Adelaide, Perth), Dubai, Singapore, Malaysia, and some Europe cities.

Write Your Comment