Characteristics of Zodiac Signs

Here are the characteristics of all zodiac signs. The main characteristics include – Planetary ownership, exaltation, debilitation, good and evil planets and the sexes.

Each Zodiac sign has its own characteristics and behave according to their individual nature. Some of the interesting features are mentioned in this article.

Planetary Ownership :

Aries (Mesha Rashi) and Scorpio (Dhanu Rashi) are ruled by Mars,

Taurus (Vrishabha Rashi) and Libra (Tula Rashi) are ruled by Venus,

Gemini (Mithuna Rashi) and Virgo (Kanya Rashi) are ruled by Mercury,

Cancer (Karka Rashi) is ruled by Moon (Chandra), Leo (Simha) is ruled by Sun,

Sagittarius (Dhanu Rashi) and Pisces (Meena Rashi) is ruled by Jupiter and

Capricorn (Makara Rashi) and Aquarius (Kumbha Rashi) is ruled by Saturn.


The Sun (Ravi / Surya) has its deep exaltation in the 10th degree of Aries,

Moon (Chandra / Soma) in 3rd degree of Taurus,

Mars (Kuja / Mangal) in 28th degree of Capricorn,

Mercury (Budha) in 15th degree of Virgo,

Jupiter (Guru / Brihaspati) in 5th degree of Cancer,

Venus (Shukra) in 27th degree of Pisces and

Saturn (Shani) in 20th degree of Libra.


The 7th house or the 180th degree from the place of exaltation is the place of Debilitation or fall.

The Sun is debilitated in the 10th degree of Libra,

Moon in the 3rd degree of Scorpio.

Good and Evil Planets :

Jupiter, Venus, Full Moon and well associated Mercury are good or benefic planets and new Moon, badly associated Mercury, Sun, Saturn and Mars are evil or malefic planets.

From the 8th day of the bright half of the lunar month, the Moon is full or benefic. It is weak from the 8th day of the dark half.


Jupiter, Mars and the Sun are Male planets and Venus and the Moon are Female planets and Mercury and Saturn are eunuchs.

Write Your Comment