Chaitra Navratri begins, 22 March 2023

Durga Ashtami Puja

Durga Ashtami Puja

On 22 March 2023, Chaitra Navratri begins. Chaitra Navratri (Vasant Navratri) is one of the big Hindu festivals across the world. As the name suggests, it is celebrated for 9-nights.

In 2023, Vasant Navratri begins on 22 March and ends on March 30. Shukla Paksha Pratipada marks the beginning of Navratri. Apart from Kalasha Sthapana (Ghatasthapana), Ashokashtami (Bhavani Jayanti / Bhavani Ashtami) and Chaitra Shukla Navami (Sri Ramanavami) mark the pompous celebrations of Vasant Navratri.

During Navratri festival, on each day one of the forms of Goddess Durga is worshipped. Navadurga Goddesses, Navadevi Goddesses, Dashamahavidya Goddesses, Saptamatrika or Ashtamatrika Goddesses, Dashamatrika Goddesses, etc. are worshipped.

Ghatasthapana (Kalasha Sthapana) marks the beginning of Navratri and Udwasan (Visarjan) is the ritual which culminates this festival.

In Maharashtra, Gujarat and some other North Indian states, there is a tradition of wearing nine different colours of dresses during the nine days of Navratri.

Nine different Naivedyams (Food offerings) to Durga Mata for Navratri.

First day of Navratri

Second day of Navratri

Third day of Navratri

Fourth day of Navratri

Fifth day of Navratri

Sixth day of Navratri

Seventh day of Navratri

Eighth day of Navratri

Ninth day of Navratri

Kalasha Sthapana Vidhi

Write Your Comment