Kali, Mahakali: Goddess Mahakali Maa


Goddess Kali , also known as MahaKali is one of the forms of Dasamahavidya goddesses associated with Shakti. She is also known as Bhavatarini meaning the redeemer of the Universe. She is often represented as the consort of Lord Shiva on whose body she is seen standing. She is often depicted as dark blue in […]

Kamala: Goddess Kamalatmika Mahavidya

Goddess Kamalatmika or kamala is the tenth of the dasamahavidyas. She is often known as the tantric Lakshmi. She is often depicted as having a golden complexion who is being bathed by the four large elephants . The elephants pour amrita from the kalashas . She has four hands and she holds two lotuses in her hands […]

Tara, Goddess Tara Mahavidya

Goddess Tara is the second of Dasamahavidyas who gives the devotees the right direction in their lives. She is called upon in emergencies or at crossroads where we require guidance as to which way to turn. Tara is also referred to as Neela Saraswati Mahavidya. Tara is the saving knowledge. She also finds mention in […]

Dasha Mahavidyas & Consort Lord Shiva

The given name Mahavidyas appear from the Sanskrit roots, with maha meaning Large and vidya sense, Exposure, demonstration, information, or knowledge. Mahavidyas (Great Wisdoms) or Dasa Mahavidyas are a collection of ten portion of the Divine Mother or Devi in Hinduism. The Goddess Mahavidyas are Knowledgeable Goddesses, who stand for a band of female religion, […]

Tripurasundari, Goddess Tripurasundari Mahavidya

Goddess Tripurasundari is one of the dasamahavidyas who is the Goddess of Srichakra. She is also known as Goddess Rajarajeshwari meaning the one who rules the universe. She is said to rule the three cities of Tripura. But in actual these refer to the three aspects of physical , subtle and supreme deities and she controls all […]

Chinnamasta Devi & her consort Lord Shiva

Chinnamasta Devi Mahavidya

Chinnamasta is that the god of transformation. Goddess Chinnamasta is advised as the Hindu God of courage and judgment, and reaches in the fifth position amidst the 10 Mahavidyas. Chinnamasta is furthermore renowned by the names Chhinnamastika and Prachanda Chandika. She is one amidst the Mahavidyas, the data Goddesses, and is probably the foremost appalling […]

Lalita Jayanti, 28 December 2012

Today, 28 December 2012 is Lalita Jayanti, Shodashi Mahavidya Jayanti, or Lalitha Tripurasundari Jayanti. It is the incarnation day of Goddess Lalitha. Lalita Jayanti falls on Margashirsha Purnima. Shodashi Mahavidya is referred to as the third Dashamavidya Goddess. Dasamahavidya are a group ten powerful manifestations of Goddess Shakti. Here you can read more about Lalitha […]

Lalita Jayanti, Shodashi Mahavidya Jayanti

Lalita Jayanti (Shodashi Mahavidya Jayanti) is the first appearance day (day of incarnation) of Goddess Lalitha, who is also referred to as one of the Dashamavidyas. In 2015, Lalita Jayanti date is January 5. Lalita Jayanti is observed on Margashirsha Purnima, the Full Moon in Margashirsha Month in Hindu calendar. It usually falls in December […]