Lord Veerabhadra Swamy

Lord Veerabhadra Swamy

Lord Veerabhadra is said to be a creation of Lord Shiva. It is believed that the personification of Lord Shiva’s power is none other than Veerabhadra. Even Lord Vishnu is not the match for Veerabhadra in the war field. Such is the power of Lord Shiva, according to the epics. In the same way, when […]

Shiva & Bhairava: Why Bhairava is a sign of Shiva’s fury?

Bhairava is a sign of Shiva’s fury. According to the stor relate on the opportunity, the Trimurti gods, Brahma, Vishnu plus Shiva was present chatting in a vital frame of mind because on the way to who be better of them every one. Within the lively dispute, Shiva felt upset by comments completed by Brahma […]

Bhikshatanamurti | Significance of Lord Shiva as Bhikshatana murti

Lord shiva as Bhikshatanamurthi

Bhikshatanamurti is one of the aspects of Lord Shiva. The word Bhikshatanamurthi means Supreme Mendicant. Though the word Mendicant refers to Beggar, it is mostly referred to ascetics, religious followers or supreme sages. There are different kinds of beliefs about the concept of Bhiksatanamurti. Some believe that Lord Shiva roams around the world in the […]

Gajasura Samharamurti: Lord Shiva who killed Gajasura

Demon Gajasura performed an unusual penance and obtained the boons, which were very extreme in nature. With this, he gained the power of conquering the Universe and started torturing all kinds of beings to praise him as the Lord. Al the Gods plead to Lord Shiva as he is the only deity who could save […]

Origin of Ashtamurti (Lord Shiva)

It is to be noted that different ancient Vedas largely refer to Lord Rudra as alternatively Lord Shiva with nearly having different qualities and eight different names. It is to be remembered that the aspect of Astamurti originated from such eight attributes that was successfully create the Shiva. It is to be observed that the […]

Ashta Bhairava, the Moving Forms of Lord Shiva

Ashta Bhairava means the eight manifestations of Lord Bhairava Swamy. Lord is the moving form of Lord Shiva. The Lord is strongly believed as the guard of the directions. The eight directions of this universe is said to be controlled by eight Maha Bhairavars. Each and every Bhairavar has eight sub Bhairavars directly under them. […]

Ravana Anugrahamurthi, Lord Shiva who blessed Ravana

Ravana anugrahamurthi is none other Lord Shiva himself. This name says that he showered his grace on the demon king Ravana in the epic Ramayana. Ravana is one of the profound devotees of Lord Shiva. It is said that demon Ravana is the foremost devotee to Lord Shiva ever in the history. He is the […]

Goddess Kalyanasundari and Lord Shiva

In Tamil language Kalyana means marriage and that is why the complete word means the holy or beautiful marriage. This goddess is the guardian of marriage and the goddess is another incarnation of Devi Parvati, the wife of Lord Shiva. So, Goddess Kalyanasundari is still worshipped with the hope that she will make the marriage […]

Bhujanga Lalita Murthy | Lord Shiva wearing Snakes as Ornaments

Bhujanga Lalita Murthy Lord Shiva

Bhujanggalalitamurti is the form of Lord Shiva, when the serpents are associated with Lord Shiva in the form of Ornaments. As Lord Shiva is known for wearing the serpents as Garlands round his neck, he is also called as Nagabhushana. Serpents form a primary part of Lord Shiva’s Ornaments. Lord Shiva wears the serpents all […]

Tripada Trimurti: Lord Shiva as Three footed Trinity

Trimurthi is the trinity of three deities Lord Brahma, Lord Vishnu and Lord Shiva. Tripada Trimurthi is the form of Lord Shiva where he is described along with Lord Brahma and Lord Vishnu forming the trinity. In the Tripada Trimurthi form, the legs of Vishnu and Shiva are seen, that is the reason it is called […]

Sarveswara | Lord Shiva as the origin of Universe

Lord Shiva is being called as Sarveswara, as he is the cause and origin for this entire Universe and every being on the earth. Lord Shiva is in the form of soul in every being and every object existing in the Universe. There is nothing existing without him or his intervention. It is believed that […]

Layakaara, Lord Shiva as Destroyer

Shiva as Ugra Raudra Samhara murthi

Lord Shiva is also known as Layakaara. The word ‘Laya’ in Sanskrit means Rhythm or a rhythmic cycle. Lord Shiva is called as Layakaara because he is the one who creates the Crests and Troughs in life, which make the very essence of the livelihood. The Divine Trio comprises of Brahma, Vishnu and Shiva. Lord […]

Lord Muthappan: A manifestation of Shiva & Vishnu

In the Coorg region of Karnataka and in North Malabar region of Kerala, Sree Muthappan is a popular folk Hindu deity who is commonly worshiped with much dedication and devotion by the devotees and pilgrim belong to the Hindu religion. According to the Sanskrit language, the name of the deity is known as Muthappan and […]

Pranavamurthi, Lord Shiva originated from Pranavanaada

Lord Shiva is called Pranavamurthi, as he is believed to be originated from the Pranavanaada. Pranavanaada here is the Omkara. It is believed that Lord Shiva had his origin from the Omkara and then he started creating the Universe and the remaining Gods, thereby assigning their duties. The Srushti, which is called as the Universe, […]

Kankalamurthi (Gangalamurti): Lord Shiva wearing Skulls, Bones

Shiva Jalabhishekam

Gangalamurti (Kankalamurthi), is the form of Lord Shiva. As the Lord Shiva is known as the destroyer, his immense power to destroy the unrest and evil forces in the human race is highlighted in this form Lord Shiva. He is not only known as the destructor of the evil forces in the human race, but […]

Gangadhara | Lord Shiva who wears Ganga on his head

Lord Gangadhara is the other name of Lord Shiva, acquired because he wore the sacred River Ganga on his head. The term Gangadhara means the one who is bearing Ganga. Sacred river ganga forms one of the attributes of Lord Shiva’s possessions in the top most part of his head, the other being the Moon […]

Gurumurthi, Lord Shiva as a Teacher (Guru)

Gurumurthi is one of the forms of Lord Shiva. In the form of Gurumurthi, Lord Shiva is considered as Teacher, who teaches about the divinity and spirituality. Lord Shiva is being worshipped as Gurumurthi on Thursdays in many Shaivite temples, as Thursday is considered as the day of Gurus. It is found in several epics […]

Concept of Ashtamurti (Lord Shiva)

Astamurti abode is Mount Kailāsa. Mantra is Aum Namah Shivaya. The main weapon is Arrow (Dhanus). The lord’s consorts are Parvati or Sati or Shakti or Durga and mount is Prithvi (Earth). The howler deity in the Vedas, Lord Rudra, who afterwards transformed into the benevolent Lord named Shiva. This particular lord has numerous names […]

Ashta Bhairava Murthi, Eight Aspects of Lord Bhairava

Ashta Bhairava Murthi are the eight aspects of Lord Bhairava (a manifestation of Lord Shiva). Also known as Bhairo, Bheruji, Kaala Bhairava, Vairavar, or Bhaironor, Bhairava is the fierce form of Lord Shiva. Bhairava is an important deity in Varanasi, Ujjain & parts of Tamil Nadu, Rajasthan and Nepal. Bhairava appears with a dog as […]

Vrisharudhamurti | Lord Shiva riding Nandi (Vrishabha, Bull)


Vrisharudhamurti is none other than Lord Shiva. Vrishabha, in other words Bull, is the vehicle of Lord Shiva and Lord Shiva being seated on Bull, is called Vrisharidhamurthi. Bull has got many names in association with Lord Shiva, the most popular one is Nandi. It is in the epics that Vrishabha,i.e, Nandi serves Shiva not […]