Tiruppavai replaces Suprabhatha Seva at Tirumala Srivari Temple for Dhanurmasam from 17 December 2016

Tiruppavai replaces Suprabhatha Seva at Tirumala Srivari Temple for Dhanurmasam from 17 December 2016… With the advent of auspicious Dhanurmasam which will commence by 4.56am of December 16, the Suprabhata Seva will be replaced by Andal Tiruppavai in Srivari temple at Tirumala from December 17 on wards and will conclude on 14 January 2017.

According to legendary, the deities wake up early in the morning during this holy month of Dhanurmasa and perform special prayers to Sri Maha Vishnu during the auspicious period of “Brahm Muhurta”, which is one and half hours before sunrise.

Keeping the legacy forward, during this month, devotees offer prayers to the Lord very early in the morning. The month of Dhanurmasa is considered a very special month for performing Puja of Vishnu.

Worshiping Vishnu who is believed to be none other than Lord Venkateswara in Kaliyuga, on a single day during this auspicious period is equal to worshiping Vishnu with devotion for 1000 years.


Usually the Ekanta Seva is performed in Sri Tirumala temple to Sri Bhoga Srinivasa Murthy. But during this one month, the Ekanta Seva is performed to Sri Krishna Swamy.


Andal Sri Goda Devi is considered to be one among the 12 Alwars. The Tiruppavai is a collection of thirty stanzas (paasurams) written by Andal also known as Nachiyar, in praise of the Lord Sri Venkateswara. It is a part of Alwar Divya Prabandha and is important in Tamil literature.


Goda Devi performed a wonderful Vratham or prayer called Dhanurmasa Vratham and attained the eternal bliss. The period, from when the sun moves into the constellation of Dhanur Rasi or Sagittarius and until it moves out to the constellation of Makara or Capricorn is known as Dhanurmasam. This month is said to be holiest for observing penance, worship, vratas and other spiritual programmes etc. to attain salvation.

Apart from Tirumala, Tiruppavai is also recited in other sub-shrines of TTD including Sri Govindaraja Swamy temple, Sri Kodanda Ramaswamy temple, Sri Prasanna Venkateswara Swamy temple of Appalayagunta, Sri Kalyana Venkateswara Swamy temple of Srinivasa Mangapuram etc.

Leave a Reply