Shodashopachara Puja – Shodashopachar or 16 steps in Hindu Puja Procedure

16 steps in Hindu Puja are collectively known as Shodashopachara Puja or Shodashopachar. These 16 rituals may vary from tradition to tradition, region to region, community to community. The rituals are common for all Pujas but the mantras or slokas may differ from a puja to another (like for Ganesha Puja, Shiva Puja, Krishna Puja, Sri Rama Puja, Sri Durga Puja, etc.). The puja which is performed with Shodashopachar is only considered as full-fledged puja.

Here are the 16 steps in Hindu Puja or Shodashopachar in common:

  1. Avahanam
  2. Aasanam (offering Chair or seat)
  3. Paadyam
  4. Arghyam (Arghya) (offering oblation)
  5. Achamanam (Achaman – purifying ourselves)
  6. Snanam (snan – offering bath to the deity)
  7. Vasthram (offering clothes)
  8. Yagnopaveetham (offering sacred thread)
  9. Shri Gandham (spilling sandalwood paste or chandan)
  10. Alankaram (decoration)
  11. Pushpam (offering flowers)
  12. Dhupam (offering agarbatti or incense sticks)
  13. Deepam (lighting lamp)
  14. Naivedyam (offering food)
  15. Thambulam (offering betel leaf and betel nut)
  16. Neerajanam (Aarti or Harathi)

Additionally, Dhyanam, Prana Pratishta, Madhu parkam, Mukha dhaarana, Sarvopacharan Mantra Pushpam, Namaskaram, Atma Pradakshina, Samarpana, Kshamarpana, Theertha Prasada, etc. are also known as important steps in Hindu Puja apart from the above Shodashopachar Puja steps.

It is to note that Shodashopachara Puja in Purusha Sooktha vidhana, Shaiva Aradhana, and Puranoktha vidhana may vary slightly in terms of Mantras or slokas.

Leave a Comment.


  1. vinayaka pujam with sanskrit slokas in mph3 for download

    By Aniyora at September 5, 2013 at 8:24 pm
  2. ganesh pooja shodashopachara vidhi and mantra free audio download

    By Chandresh at August 11, 2013 at 11:22 am
  3. purusha sukta vidhana vinayaka chavithi pooja vidhanam in telugu pdf

    By Mahua at July 27, 2013 at 11:45 pm
  4. ho wto do prana prathista slokas in telugu

    By Bhanusri at July 7, 2013 at 7:31 am
  5. hindus how to do shodachopura puja at home

    By Keemaya at June 9, 2013 at 1:25 pm
  6. 16 steps of durga pujan viddhi in hindi

    By Kaviya at May 5, 2013 at 9:32 pm
  7. how to perform gruhapravesha vidhi vidhanas in kannada

    By Chandraabhaa at April 17, 2013 at 9:24 pm
  8. pooja procedure for satyanarayan katha in gujarati to download

    By Namdev at April 12, 2013 at 4:59 pm
  9. sixteen step with sloka and mantra of puja

    By Tarunima at March 26, 2013 at 10:56 am