Sashti 2013: Sashti Viratham 2013, Shashti Fasting

Sashti Viratham is a vratam dedicated to Lord Muruga who is also referred to as Skanda, Subramanya, Kartikeya, or Shanmuga. This viratham is observed on Sashti or the sixth day in Shukla Paksha of each month in Hindu calendar.

Sashti Vritham is a popularly observed in Tamil Nadu, Kerala, Karnataka & some parts of Andhra Pradesh.

Skanda Sashti is observed for six days in Aippasi Month of Tamil calendar. Soorasamharam and Thirukalyanam are the most popular events of Skanda Sashti festival.

Devotees observe fasting on Sashti day and recite Skanda Sashti Kavacham to get blessed by Lord Murugan.

Kumara Sashti, Subramanya Sashti and Naga Sashti are some other famous vrathas performed on Sashti days.

The list of Sashti Viratham or Shashti fasting dates in 2013 is given here..

Wednesday, 16 January 2013: Sashti Viratham / Fasting

Friday, 15 February 2013: Sashti Viratham / Fasting

Sunday, 17 March 2013: Sashti Viratham / Fasting

Tuesday, 16 April 2013: Sashti Viratham / Fasting

Wednesday, 15 May 2013: Sashti Viratham / Fasting

Friday, 14 June 2013: Sashti Viratham / Fasting

Sunday, 14 July 2013: Sashti Viratham / Fasting

Monday, 12 August 2013: Sashti Fasting / Viratham

Tuesday, 10 September 2013: Sashti Fasting / Viratham

Thursday, 10 October 2013: Sashti Fasting / Viratham

Sunday, 3 November 2013: Skanda Sashti festival begins – day 1

Monday, 4 November 2013: Skanda Sashti day 2

Tuesday, 5 November 2013: Skanda Sashti day 3

Wednesday, 6 November 2013: Skanda Sashti day 4

Thursday, 7 November 2013: Skanda Sashti day 5

Friday, 8 November 2013: Soorasamharam

Saturday, 9 November 2013: Thirukalyanam – Skanda Sashti festival ends

Saturday, 7 December 2013: Subramanya Sashti

69 Comments

Leave a Comment.