Hindu Festivals dates and Auspicious days in July 2009

July month (Ashada – Shravan months) in 2009 has a long list of important Hindu festivals and auspicious days. Here is the list:

July 2, Thursday – Bahuda Yatra, the return festival of Puri Jagannath Yatra

July 2, Thursday – Chatur mas vrat starts

July 2, Thursday – Sri Mahalakshmi Vrat begins (Ashada Shukravar Vrata) or Shaaka Vratam

July 3, Friday – Devsayani Ekadasi or Padma Ekadashior Tholi Ekadashi or Pratham Ekadasi    or Hari Vasara Ekadasi or Shayana Ekadasi or Sayani Ekadasi

July 3, Friday – Gopadma Vrata begins

July 3, Friday – Pandarpur Yatra – Ashadi Ekadasi – Maha Ashadi

July 4, Saturday – Pradosha Puja or Shiva Pradosh Vrata

July 4, Saturday – Shani Triodasi

July 4, Saturday – Vasudev Dwadashi Vrat

July 5, Sunday – Jaya Parvati Vrat Aarambh

July 6, Monday – Kokila Vrat

July 7, Tuesday – Guru Purnima or Vyasa Poornima

July 7, Tuesday – Shiva Sayana Vrat begins or Shiva Dolotsav

July 7, Tuesday – Shravani Mela – Bhaidyanath Shrabani Mela begins at Deoghar Bhaidyanath Dham

July 8, Wednesday – Sawan mahinabegins in North India

July 9, Thursday – Jaya Parvati Vrat concludes – Jaya Parvati Jagran

July 11, Saturday – Sankashta Chaturthi Vrat or Sankat har Chaturthi

July 12, Sunday – Ujjaini Mahankali Bonalu Jatharain Secunderabad

July 12, Sunday – Nag Panchamiin East Indian and some North Indian states

July 12, Sunday – Manasa Devi Ashtanag Puja

July 12, Sunday – Garuda Panchami Puja

July 12, Sunday – Mauna Panchami or Mouna Panchami Vrat in Shraban Mela at Bhaidyanath Temple in Deoghar

July 17, Friday – Karka Sankraman or Dakshinayana day or Kartaka Sankranthi

July 18, Saturday – Kamika Ekadasi

July 18, Saturday – Shraban maas starts as per Bengali Calendar

July 19, Sunday – Pradosha Pooja or Shiva Pradosh Vrat

July 22, Wednesday – Ashad Amavasya or Gatari Amavasyaor Chukkala Amvasya

July 22, Wednesday – Deepa Puja or Diya Pooja

July 22, Wednesday – Bheemana Amavasya or Jyothirbheemeshwara Vrata and Pathi Sanjeevini Vratha

July 22, Wednesday – Total Solar Eclipse – Sampurna Surya Grahanam

July 22, Wednesday – Shravan maas begins as per Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka, Gujarat and Maharashtra calendars

July 24, Friday –Hariyali Teej or Singhara Teej or Teejan

July 24, Friday – Madhushrava Tritiya or Madhusrava Teej

July 25, Saturday – Nagula Chavithi (not important as Kartik Nag Chaturthi)

July 26, Sunday – Kalki Jayanti – Lord Kalki Avatar Jayanthi

July 26, Sunday – Nag Panchami or Nagula Panchamiin South India and in Gujarat, Maharashtra and some other North Indian regions

July 26, Sunday – Garuda Panchami Puja

July 27, Monday – Supaudana Vrat – Supoudan Vrata

July 28, Tuesday – Sant Tulsidas Jayanti or Goswami Tulsi Jayanthi

July 28, Tuesday – Mangala Gauri Vrata or Mangal Gowri Vrat or Shravan Mangalvar Vrat begins in Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka, Gujarat and Maharashtra calendars

July 31, Friday – Jhulan Yatra or Jhoola Festival

July 31, Friday – Vara lakshmi Vratam – Var Mahalaxmi Vrat

July 31, Friday – Asha Dashami

Leave a Reply