Hindu Festivals Dates and Auspicious Days in August 2009

Hindu Festivals dates and auspicious days in August 2009 in India:
Pavitra Ekadasi or Putrada Ekadashi or Pavitropana Ekadasi: August 1, Saturday in 2009
Venkateswara Vratam: August 1
Shravana Dwadashi or Damodara Dwadasi: August 2, Sunday in 2009
Pradosha Puja: August 3, Monday in 2009
Sravani Poornima – Raksha Bandan – Narali Purnima – Avani Avittam – Janey Purnima – Yajur Upakarma: August 5, Wednesday in 2009
Hayagriva jayanthi – Hayagreeva Uthpatthi: August 5
Jhulan Yatra or Jhulayan Yatra culminates: August 5
Gayatri Japam day – Rig Upaakarma: August 6, Thursday in 2009
Pakshik Chandra Grahan – Partial Lunar Eclipse: August 6
Raghavendra aradhanam: August 7, Friday in 2009
Bhadrapad or Bhadra month begins in North India: August 7
Sankashti Hara Chaturthi: August 9, Sunday in 2009
Raksha Panchami: August 10, Monday in 2009
Sri Krishna Ashtami – Sri Krishna Janmashtami – Gokulashtami (Smartha): August 13, Thursday in 2009
Sri Krishna Ashtami – Sri Krishna Janmashtami – Gokulashtami (for Vaishnav sect) – August 14, Friday in 2009
Kaumari Devi Puja – Koumari Devi Pooja: August 14, Friday in 2009
Aravinda Maharshi Jayanti: August 15, Saturday in 2009
Guga Navami or Goga Naumi: August 15, Saturday in 2009
Vatsa Puja: August 17, Monday in 2009
Aja Ekadasi – August 17
Bhadra month starts as per Bengali Calendar: August 17
Polala Amavasya – Pola or Bail Pola – Sharavan Amavasya – Polamba Vratam Pithori Amavas: August 20, Thursday in 2009
Bhadrapad Masam starts in Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka, Maharashtra and Gujarat – August 21
Kalki Jayanti: August 22, Saturday in 2009
Varaha Jayanti: August 22
Haritaalika Teej Vrat: August 23, Sunday in 2009
Ganesh Chaturthi – Vinayaka Chaviti Festival – August 23
Shiva Chaturthi: August 23
Samaveda Upakarma – August 23
Rishi Panchami – Rushi Panchami Puja: August 24, Monday in 2009
Surya Sashti – Surya Shashti: August 25, Tuesday in 2009
Amuktha Bharana Saptami: August 26, Wednesday in 2009
Dadheeechi Jayanti or Dadhi Vrata Aarambham: August 27, Thursday in 2009
Durvashtami – Doorva Ashtami: August 27
Radhashtami – Radha Ashtami: August 27
Nanda Devi Puja or Nanda Devi Vratam: August 28, Friday in 2009
Parivarthana Ekadashi – Parivarthaneikadashi: August 31, Monday in 2009

Leave a Reply