Bhadrapada Masa 2017 in Kannada Calendar

Bhadrapada masa (Bhadrapada month) is 6th month in Kannada calendar followed in Karnataka. In 2017, Bhadrapada Masa begins on August 22 and ends on September 20 with Mahalaya Amavasya (Sarva Pithru Amavasya).

Bhadrapada masa is considered inauspicious for Gruhapravesha, marriages, engagements, and all other auspicious functions. It is considered as Shunya Maasa.

In Bhadrapada month as per Kannada panchanga Swarna Gauri Habba, Ganesha Habba (Ganesh Chaturthi), Rushi Panchami, Ananta Chaturdashi Anantha Vratha, Pitru paksha or Mahalaya paksha, and Shraddha Amavasya are the important festivals. Ganapati Navaratri utsava is the major festival celebrated in Karnataka cities such as Bangalore, Mysore, Mangalore, etc.

Shukla Paksha in Bhadrapada Masa begins on August 22 and ends on September 6.

Krishna Paksha (Bahula Paksha) in Bhadrapada Masa starts onSeptember 7 and ends on September 20.

Here is the list of festivals dates and auspicious days in Kannada Bhadrapada Masa 2017

Thursday, 24 August  2017 – Hartalika Teej

Friday, 25 August  2017 – Ganesh Chaturthi (Vinayaka Chavithi)

Saturday, 26 August  2017 – Rishi Panchami

Tuesday, 29 August  2017 – Radha Ashtami

Saturday, 2 September 2017 – Parsva Ekadashi

Monday, 4 September 2017 – Onam (Thiru Onam)

Tuesday, 5 September 2017 – Anant Chaturdashi

Tuesday, 5 September 2017 – Ganesh Visarjan (Ganesh Nimajjanam)

Wednesday, 6 September 2017 – Bhadrapad Purnima

Wednesday, 6 September 2017 – Pratipada Shraddha, Pitru Paksha Begins

Saturday, 16 September 2017 – Indira Ekadashi

Sunday, 17 September 2017 – Kanya Sankranti

Tuesday, 19 September 2017 – Sarvapitru Amavasya (Mahalaya Amavasya)

Next month in Kannada calendar is – Ashwayuja masa (Ashwina maas or Asvin Mahina or Aswayuj maas).

Leave a Reply

2 Comments

  1. Amba says:

    as per kannada panchanga when mahalaya starts and ends